Regional Wine Committee

Developing the Kremstal together

In many classic wine countries, it has long been customary for those involved in the wine industry to join together to form industry associations in order to promote the development of their region. In March 2002 this also happened in the Kremstal with the establishment of the Regional Wine Committee (RWK) Kremstal.

While the National Wine Committee (NWK) only deals with resolutions that also result in legal changes, the RWKs, as a central element in the respective areas, have the greatest possible scope for action and use it.

Vertreter der Weinwirtschaft im RWK sind Weinproduzenten, Weinhändler und Genossenschaftsvertreter.

According to the vineyard area group of 1000 to 5000 hectares that applies to the Kremstal, up to 15 members may participate in the RWK. The persons are appointed by the Federal Minister for Agriculture, Regions and Tourism for a period of 5 years and carry out their duties on a voluntary basis. The next period begins in early 2022.

The five most important tasks of the Regional Wine Committee

  1. Market research and implementation of marketing measures in cooperation with Österreichische Weinmarketing GmbH.
  2. Development of processes and technologies to improve product quality.
  3. Elaboration of standard contracts such as B. Supply or management contracts.
  4. Definition of conditions for the production and marketing of original wines. This means that a RWK can propose regulations for Kremstal DAC wines to the Federal Minister.
  5. Development of wine tourism activities.

The members of the Regional Wine Committee

Obmann Leopold Müller, Weingut Müller, Krustetten
Wolfgang Aigner, Weingut Aigner, Krems
Franz Bauer, Vorstand Winzer Krems
Erich Berger, Weingut Berger, Gedersdorf
Josef Dockner jun., Winzerhof Dockner, Höbenbach
Franz Ehrenleitner, Geschäftsführer Winzer Krems
Meinhard Forstreiter, Weingut Forstreiter, Krems-Hollenburg
Ing. Michael Rethaller, Weinkellerei Lenz Moser, Rohrendorf
Klaus Klein, Geschäftsführer Weingut Schloss Fels, Spar
DI Michael Malat, Weingut Malat, Furth-Palt
Fritz Miesbauer, Weingut Stadt Krems
Dr. Bertold Salomon, Salomon Undhof, Krems-Stein
Erwin Tauchner, Weingut Tauchner, Krems
Franz Türk, Weingut Türk, Stratzing
Obmann-Stv. Artur Toifl, Weingut Thiery-Weber, Rohrendorf
Franz Backknecht, Präsident NÖ Weinbauverband
Geschäftsführer Mag. Dieter Faltl, Dir. Weinbauschule Krems

DI Konrad Hackl, Geschäftsführer NÖ Weinbauverband